CCSD Awards Tenure to Faculty & Staff

On May 18th, the Board of Education granted tenure to 14 #WeAreChappaqua educators, and celebrated 4 others who received Tenure at previous meetings throughout the year. Surrounded by their families and coworkers, each tenure honoree was recognized during a courtyard ceremony before the start of that evening’s regular Board of Education meeting. 

Andrew Corsilia, Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources and Leadership Development, introduced the evening and candidates, highlighting the impact they have had and will continue to have on their students and schools. “How you approach your work with students is now how your school will approach students,” he shared. “Your passion, curiosity, and dedication will impact your students and your schools for many years to come.” (continued below)

Tenure 2023

Danielle Barrett-Denmead
Science - Seven Bridges

Nicole Carroll
Teaching Assistant - Grafflin

Laurajean Cavaluzzi
Teaching Assistant - Grafflin

Yanxia Chen
Foreign Language - Greeley

Joseph Drew
School Psychologist - District-wide

Nancie Felton
Teaching Assistant - Greeley

Sarah Gerbino
Special Education - Westorchard

Stephanie Petrini
Teaching Assistant - Bell

Ashley Kuhlmann
English - Bell

Alex Lichorat
Science - Greeley

Elizabeth Mazzini-Chin
Social Studies - Greeley

Desiree Miller
Special Education - Seven Bridges

Kathryn Naaman
Elementary - District-wide

Lisa Rudovic
Elementary - Westorchard

Matthew Simone
Physical Education - Greeley

Angelique Titre-Barnor
Special Education - Bell

Elissa Turshen
Elementary - Roaring Brook

Tonya Wilson
Elementary Principal - Roaring Brook

Building principals and District leaders then spoke about each tenure honoree, often sharing anecdotes from students and colleagues that highlight their dedication to students, learning, and growth.

Board of Education President Jane Kimmel-Shepardson closed the ceremony, describing it as a favorite event for the Board of Education. She thanked the tenure honorees for their “unwavering commitment to our students,” adding, “We feel lucky that you have chosen to teach here and do your magic here.”

Congratulations to all of this year’s tenure honorees on reaching this career milestone. The Chappaqua Central School District is proud to have these dedicated educators a part of our school community.

To learn more about how the District supports and evaluates new teachers during the tenure process, click here to watch Dr. Adam Pease, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum & Instruction, provide an update at the May 3, 2023 Board of Education meeting.