2020 National Latin Exam Results

Co-sponsored by the American Classical League and the National Junior Classical League, the National Latin Exam (NLE) is a test given annually to Latin students (grades 7-12) across the United States and around the world. The NLE is not meant to be a competition but rather an opportunity for students to receive reinforcement and recognition for their accomplishments in the classroom.

The exam is a 40-question, multiple-choice test (45-minute time limit) with questions on grammar, comprehension, mythology, derivatives, literature, Roman life, history, geography, oral Latin, and Latin in use in the modern world.

Depending upon their score, students may earn certificates, medals, and may even qualify for scholarships. This year, 136,891 students from all fifty states and 12 countries participated.

Introduction To Latin - Grade 7

Outstanding Achievement - Perfect Score
Ananya Dhanawade
Reese Wang

Certificate of Outstanding Achievement
Michael Aram
Marcus Arnold
Natalie Carousso
Rachel Chen
Jamie Corwin
Milo Gold
Emily Hametz
Steven Kang
Josephine Shipper
Lauren Singer
Alicia Zhu

Certificate of Achievement
Noah Asseo
Manny Bandler
Benjamin Chang
Philip Childs
Ava Corini
Daniel Fioretti
Jonathan Forrest
Grace Frasch
Ryder Goodman
Katherine Gugick
Phoebe Hawthorne
Jackson Heiss
Michael O'Malley
Evan Pufahl
Stephen Ruscigno
Esme Weiss
Daniel Ye

Latin I - Grade 8

Gold Summa Cum Laude - Perfect Score
Gabrielle Kogan

Gold Summa Cum Laude
Rena Hollister
Eli Jubelirer
Neil Noronha
Ethan Vargas
Madeleine Visser

Silver Maxima Cum Laude
James Anderson
Violet Christensen
Rosemary Guida
Marley Horowitz
Aidan Lewinter
Emmaline Lim
William Marinello
Louisa Rose
Rebecca Sage
Mia Viera
Cameron Wong
Victor Zhou

Magna Cum Laude
Christopher Butler
Dilin Lilgjuraj
Eden Rose
Aneesh Roy
Carter Walsh
Jordan Zhao

Cum Laude    
Cameron Kidde
Tatum Walsh
Benjamin Singer

Horace Greeley High School

A total of 73 students from Latin I, II, III, IV and AP received awards.

Jason Kang and Jack Wei are the recipients of the American Classical League’s Maureen O’Donnell Book Award. The award is given to students who receive a gold medal on the National Latin Exam four years in a row. Of the 136,891 students who took the exam this year, only 507 achieved this award. 

Holly Cheng and Alec Xiang are the recipients of the Carter Stubbs Drake Goad Memorial Book Award. The award is given to students who achieve a gold medal on the National Latin Exam five consecutive years. Of the 136,891 students who took the exam, only 101 achieved this award.

Gold Summa Cum Laude
Nyssa Bhattacharyya
Daphne Cao
William Chang
Holly Cheng
Ashleigh Corwin
Anna Hallac
Jessica Ji
Jason Kang
Jack Liu
Dillon O’Malley
Lizzy Osinski
Gabriel Paley
Ava Peters
Anthony Ruscigno
Trisha Saxena
Bertha Schipper
Owen Sibinga
Adam Soomro
Linda Sun
Tessa Wheeler
Jack Wei
Alec Xiang
Justin Xiang
Ashley Ye
Leila Young
Rachel Zhang
Jonathan Zhou

Silver Maxima Cum Laude
Lucas Abraham
Mason Balber
Megan Bass
Indigo Comay
Lea Duesterwald
Lauren Fanter
Nathan Foote
Kira Lindner
Theodora Mace
Lauren Mazzarelli
Kyle McAfee
Anna Paskowitz
Lori Saxena
Kiran Sheth
Charlie Singer
Jason Singer
Cadence Weddle
Greyson Weddle
Hudson White
Ethan Zalasin
Young Zheng

Bronze Magna Cum Laude
Mason Barlow
Peter Correia
Lauren Fischer
James Kissane
Eleanor Lynch
William Ma
Jack Moran
Anastasia Ocejo
Jonathan Reina
James Reynolds
Ben Rothstein
Sophia Rutman
Kate Stingone
Jason Wei

Cum Laude
Evan Bazel
William Brandes
Jared Caspar
Noah Falbaum
Jack Gustafson
Jonathan Kang
Michelle Kasulka
Avery Keisel
Cooper Lynch
Christina Tavlarakis